Long time readers of this blog might remember that last August I wrote about some of the curious e-mails that I often receive at Delirious.org.uk. On that occasion I had received a slightly bizzare e-mail from big Arnie Schwarzenegger. Well, today I got an e-mail that beats even that!
"Dear Webmaster", the e-mail begins. Nothing unusual there. "I'm the webmaster of a woodworking resource website at http://woodworking.resource-websites.com". Hmmm... at this point I started to become slightly puzzled. But hey, I thought, no reason why the webmaster of a woodworking website shouldn't be a d: fan.
So I read on and this is what else it said: "I've collected quality links to other important resources for my links page. I came across your site and feel that it'd fit perfectly in my collection of quality links." Err really? You think my Delirious? website fits perfrectly on your woodworking website? Now I'm all for free publicity, but really, I think this is stretching things a bit far!
The e-mail continues: "I've already placed a link to your web site along with a description at http://woodworking.resource-websites.com/christmaswoodworkingplan I'd appreciate if you'd place a link back to my site using the following description: Resource site for everything to do with woodworking. Full of newsletters, articles, links and other resources - ALL FREE - in one easy to navigate site to save time and money." At this point I have to admit to feeling very suspicious. This guy is just having me on, I thought. He wants some free publicity for his site, and so he's pretending to have added a link to my site.
Right, I thought, I'm going to check this out. So, I clicked on over to http://woodworking.resource-websites.com/christmaswoodworkingplan and to my amazement, sure enough, there it was - a link to Delirious.org.uk! If that wasn't funny enough, the description he has of my site reads as follows: Yacht and boat designs, plans and manuals for the home and professional boat builder. Power, sail,.... If you don't believe me, check it out for yourself!
So, feeling rather confused by this whole episode, I read the remainder of the e-mail: "If you'd like the description of your site modified, the category changed (by the way the category you are in is because search results on major search engines bring up your site for that category), or if you have any other cross-promotion ideas just drop me a line.". So apparently major search engines think that Delirious.org.uk is about woodworking. This is when the penny dropped. I guess with a surname of Wood I should have expected something like this to happen eventually. I suppose I should really reply to the e-mail and put the guy straight, maybe suggest a more suitable description of my site (which I still don't really understand how he came up with!). But you know what? I'd hate to disappoint the guy, so I think I'll just let him believe that Delirious.org.uk is about yacht and boat design. After all, who am I to disagree with major search engines?
"Dear Webmaster", the e-mail begins. Nothing unusual there. "I'm the webmaster of a woodworking resource website at http://woodworking.resource-websites.com". Hmmm... at this point I started to become slightly puzzled. But hey, I thought, no reason why the webmaster of a woodworking website shouldn't be a d: fan.
So I read on and this is what else it said: "I've collected quality links to other important resources for my links page. I came across your site and feel that it'd fit perfectly in my collection of quality links." Err really? You think my Delirious? website fits perfrectly on your woodworking website? Now I'm all for free publicity, but really, I think this is stretching things a bit far!
The e-mail continues: "I've already placed a link to your web site along with a description at http://woodworking.resource-websites.com/christmaswoodworkingplan I'd appreciate if you'd place a link back to my site using the following description: Resource site for everything to do with woodworking. Full of newsletters, articles, links and other resources - ALL FREE - in one easy to navigate site to save time and money." At this point I have to admit to feeling very suspicious. This guy is just having me on, I thought. He wants some free publicity for his site, and so he's pretending to have added a link to my site.
Right, I thought, I'm going to check this out. So, I clicked on over to http://woodworking.resource-websites.com/christmaswoodworkingplan and to my amazement, sure enough, there it was - a link to Delirious.org.uk! If that wasn't funny enough, the description he has of my site reads as follows: Yacht and boat designs, plans and manuals for the home and professional boat builder. Power, sail,.... If you don't believe me, check it out for yourself!
So, feeling rather confused by this whole episode, I read the remainder of the e-mail: "If you'd like the description of your site modified, the category changed (by the way the category you are in is because search results on major search engines bring up your site for that category), or if you have any other cross-promotion ideas just drop me a line.". So apparently major search engines think that Delirious.org.uk is about woodworking. This is when the penny dropped. I guess with a surname of Wood I should have expected something like this to happen eventually. I suppose I should really reply to the e-mail and put the guy straight, maybe suggest a more suitable description of my site (which I still don't really understand how he came up with!). But you know what? I'd hate to disappoint the guy, so I think I'll just let him believe that Delirious.org.uk is about yacht and boat design. After all, who am I to disagree with major search engines?





Many of you will remember that in 2004 Delirious? appeared at the UK's Grapevine festival, where a
RSS